Thread: Pine trees

Default Pine trees

I am building a house in a 12 acre pasture. I don't want a 12 acre yard so I'm going to plant some pine trees on one side. This pasture has been mowed well the last few months. I have all sorts of grasses, I mean all kinds. Fescue, signal grass, Texas panicum..... What should I be doing right now to prep for planting the pine trees in December-February. I am a farmer and I have ALL sorts of chemicals, but what should I spray now and what should I spray 6 months from now to control the grass in my pine trees. I can kill the grass now but should I add a residual?
    Last edited by coon hunter; 09-09-2014 at 08:30 PM.

Round up and burn ....

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Conservation means the wise use of the earth and its resources for the lasting good of men. -Gifford Pinchot

The beauty of the second amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it. -Thomas Jefferson

The very existence of flame-throwers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done.

We had ours planted using a tractor like this...
    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xqPlW4V7F8"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xqPlW4V7F8[/ame]

It turned the grass over and worked very well. Didn't have to use chemicals. Our pines are now 10yrs old and purty looking.

Be careful what you spray before you plant, I would contact a pine tree nursery first.
    Quote Originally Posted by Birddawg View Post
    I dont know how it was done. For all I know that weird bastard that determined it's gender licked it.

scalping and machine planting will hold the grass back

with out scalping, imazapyr for kill and oust extra for residual. then a release, maybe two the following growing season. grasses are a bitch, as you well know. if you are planting any longleaf, the imazapyr carryover may bang em up depending on the rate.