Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rage broad heads

Default Rage broad heads

I'm kinda new to bow hunting and I jumped at the hype of the rage... Even at the advice of some on here to stay away from the! Long story short I shot my first deer with a bow yesterday, quarterin to me, went in behind his shoulder came out his gut! I know I should have waited for a better angle but I let my nerves get the best of my patience, I'll learn from that. But anyways I tracked him 400 yards and lost blood. I know most of this is my fault for the shot angle but I feel like the broad head should have done a better job, it looked like it didn't fully deploy when I retrieved the arrow! I just hate leavin a deer in the woods I know is dead. Your thoughts, advice please.....I'm a wreck lol.
    Last edited by reezen44; 10-17-2011 at 11:08 AM.

Don't take a bad shot. That's about all the advice I've got other than use a rifle.

But in full disclosure I suck at deer hunting.
    You've got one life. Blaze on!

Bad shot. A 400 yard blood trail is pretty good IMO. You should never, ever, take a bad shot. If you cant restrain yourself you should consider a different activity.

1st thing, you jumped that deer.... shoulda waited longer after a bad shot... 2nd, should have waited for a better shot...... 3rd, the deer is dead. guts plugged the hole up and thats why you lost the blood.... go back to where you lost blood and look at the closest water holes... anything that holes water, a ditch, creek, pond, anything... deer want to get to water when they are hurt.

Yea I waited an hour and a half but I should have waited longer I know, he did go down into the swamp but I backed out cus I was afraid I was push in him

I do not like Rage broadheads, but with that shot any head would likely had produced the same results. You can't blame this on anything except for a poor choice. Learn from it and move on.

Do you have a friend with a dog who can help you? May be your last option.