Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fruit Trees

Default Fruit Trees

Who on here grows them? I have very little experience except for when I was a kid.

Ideally I’d like lemon, lime, papaya, mango, avocado, etc maybe some others.

Is that manageable in SC? We can go in ground, container, greenhouse etc. Just exploring options at this point.

Thanks!

winter freeze is bad on them.

i have lemon, lime, and satsuma. working on avocado. most are in containers. couple mandarins and one meyer lemon in ground close to my house. I cover in winter, as best I can. lost one lemon at 18deg after it had flowered a little.
    Ugh. Stupid people piss me off.

McKenzie Farms in Scranton has hybrid Tangerines to stand cold below 15 degrees. The fruit is the sweetest I have ever eaten. We just planted them in the flowerbeds.

Sent from my motorola edge plus 5G UW (2022) using Tapatalk

I’m thinking about planting a plumb tree in the fall. I live in Lexington. I assume our climate is right but I haven’t looked.

Quote Originally Posted by CofC Waterfowler View Post
    I’m thinking about planting a plumb tree in the fall. I live in Lexington. I assume our climate is right but I haven’t looked.
    We planted 4-5 at my house when I was kid. They beared fruit well through my high school years.

you can message him on facebook, his name is Stan Mckenzie

just make sure its level.
    Ugh. Stupid people piss me off.

Quote Originally Posted by Mars Bluff View Post
    Only thing we need to be wearing in this country are ass whippings & condoms. That'll clear up half our issues.

Make sure you plant the correct type for our area. some require more or less "chill hours" If you get the wrong ones, they will bloom too early and a march frost will zap it.

Quote Originally Posted by 2thDoc View Post
    just make sure its level.
    Last edited by CofC Waterfowler; 05-15-2023 at 12:37 PM.