Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Anyone Else Grow Hot Peppers? Seriously Hot Peppers?

Default Anyone Else Grow Hot Peppers? Seriously Hot Peppers?

I have been doing exotic hot peppers for 10-12 years now and bringing in three or four bushes each year to overwinter. My Carolina Reaper bush was about six years old and the trunk about the size of a disposable water bottle. I would cut them back to about 30" tall and only about four 12" or less stems each year before bringing them inside. For whatever reason, all three died (Reaper plus Peach Scorpion and Chocolate Ghost). So I have started over this year which means the really hot stuff will not come until about August and I am stuck with nursery varieties since I did not do seeds this year.

Anyone else grow and/or enjoy these devils? I have planted about a dozen plants this year simply because my season will be shorter without old plants. Should be plenty if anyone wants some later in the season. Before anyone asks, I will only eat up to the ghosts or scorpions, and the reapers are only for cooking, sauces, and making into shaker spices/rubs. Thanks, MG

PS this year Habeneros (both red and orange), bhut jolokia ghost, Carolina Reapers, and of course a few jalapenos to satisfy the common man.
    Dum Spiro Spero

Growing super hot peppers is on level with CrossFit and super fucking expensive turkey vests.

People mainly do it so they can tell others they are doing it.

Quote Originally Posted by Sportin' Woodies View Post
    Growing super hot peppers is on level with CrossFit and super fucking expensive turkey vests.

Does that mean I need to get one of those tires? MG
    Dum Spiro Spero

Quote Originally Posted by Sportin' Woodies View Post

Sounds more like growing fancy weed.
    Sea Ark 1542 w/ Yamaha 40
    Xpress 16 w/ 50 Hammer
    War Eagle 15 w/ 30 Hammer

--------------------------------------------------