Thread: No till

Default No till

Any of y’all ever tried the no till approach for food plots and what were the results.

I just use corn

Yes I have used it for last 3 years. I planted clover in fall and used oats as a cover crop to get established. It works, I am guessing but I think germination is reduced by 25% or so. But if getting equipment to location is an issue, this is better than nothing

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I've thought about it but been hesitant. I've always disced and had success I'm afraid if it fails I have no plot. I usually plant buckwheat in April for weed suppression I may try it then.

I have been doing this for about 10 years. Dr. Grant Woods has a bunch of YouTube info as does Jeff Sturgis... It works.
    "If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die, I want to go where they went."
    Will Rogers

Sasha - How does it work on different soils…clay, sandy, etc?

I like the concept, but I agree I think you will end up with a reduced germination.

What the farmers do is a good bit different.

I dont believe he highlighted the fact you need to spray and mow enough. For it to work you need to start with a level playing field. He mentions it but doesnt hammer it home.
    Yup, he's crazy...

like a fox. The dude may be coming in a little too hard and crazy but 90% of everything he says is correct.

Sort of like Toof. But way smarter.
    ~Scatter Shot

Quote Originally Posted by welltaut View Post
    Sasha - How does it work on different soils…clay, sandy, etc?

I plant buckwheat for a cover crop and broadcast cowpeas or greens into into the standing crop in July (peas) or August (greens)... then drag over the buckwheat to make a mulch layer. Sometimes I will come back and do a light (2oz per gal) of gly to terminate the cover crop.

ALL your planting/broadcasting needs to be right before a SUBSTANTIAL RAIN - preferably for several days.