Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bourbon hunting

Default Bourbon hunting

I'm new to the bourbon hunting game, and I'm trying to find out the best method for getting the harder to find items and just learning the liquor business in general. For example, I recently had a glass of Elmer T Lee and loved it. Am I better off buying from as many stores in my area to look for it by chance, or do some stores have a better chance than others of getting it and I should spend all my time/money at a specific store to build a relationship? And do stores place orders for the more rare bottles, or is it just luck of the draw as to what the distiller sends on the truck?

Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk

where are you located?

Quote Originally Posted by ecu1984 View Post
    where are you located?
    Anderson/Greenville area

Relationship building has worked best for me. I buy everything from one store and I drive by, at least, 10 others to get there. At this point, the manager texts me when they have something good. Stores that move the most volume seem to get the best stuff. The store I frequent has a ton of restaurant and bar accounts.
    HS may contradict everything I just said, but that's how I figure it with my limited knowledge.
    Crops are harvested, animals are killed.

Ask highstrung if he has any Blantons in stock.

What MKW said. It may take a year or longer to build that relationship, and no, stores don’t get to place orders for allocated bourbons. They get what they get.

I'll type my full opinion on this in a little while. If I got started my wife would think I'm having bathroom problems

Quote Originally Posted by Highstrung View Post
    I'll type my full opinion on this in a little while. If I got started my wife would think I'm having bathroom problems
    Thanks HS! I was hoping you'd pull the curtain back a little and show how things worked!

I'll help.