Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Food plot planting steps

Default Food plot planting steps

I’ve gotten my process for planting down pretty well. Generally will cut my plots, then come back and spray them with glyphosate - then a couple weeks later burn, disc, broadcast and cover.

The part always wonder about is whether the cutting on the front end is wasted energy. For those of you who go through this exercise each year, any advice? Cut it all first or just go to spraying. Cutting it takes 3/4 of a day or so - so kind of thinking about skipping it - but don’t want to spray with out cutting and then find that I wasted more time because spraying the jungle didn’t work.

Thoughts?

Spray it.

Drill through it.

Kill goats.

In my opinion, and I do this for a living, if broadcasting is your only option. Then a very well prepared seedbed is crucial. That said I would...Mow, burn it down with chemical, disc it until you have a level even seed bed, then plant, cover...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Conservation means the wise use of the earth and its resources for the lasting good of men. -Gifford Pinchot

The beauty of the second amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it. -Thomas Jefferson

The very existence of flame-throwers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done.

Mow, wait a few weeks, spray, till (whichever way you are able), then plant. Most folks ain't got a no till drill
    "They are who we thought they were"

You can dress a fat chick up, but you cant fix stupid