Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Foam core boat project.

Default Foam core boat project.

Started a foam core boat build. 1248 boat will fiberglass inside and out. Then float test it before continuing with project. Still learning how to upload pics. Ill probably finish this one and then not build another one, im not a quitter so i have no choice but to finish it, unless float test fails. Mainly looking to see if boat floats good and is balanced. Also will need to re-enforce the transom. Will upload pics if i can figure it out. Any thoughts on doing boats this way ? Should be a light boat. Im hoping itll atleast handle a 20hp tiller handle , but then again its a project and im no engineer.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Not sure what kinda foam that is but you better make sure your resin of choice is compatible with it.

Yeah i thought about that. Some resins melt foam so will need to get compatible resin for sure !

You will need epoxy resin, I have glassed over this foam for projects before. With the right lamination schedule it can be very strong.

You will want to core your transom with a different material if you want to put a motor on it.

Interested to follow this one along.

Will definitely follow along on this. Got the itch to build a boat but never thought about foam board. How are the pieces of foam held together?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Foam is glued with non foaming gorilla glue then screwed into another piece with 3” screws every 3”. Then i taped seems. Yeah im going to put treated plywood on the transom for sure, wanted to do coosa board but at $600 for a 4x8 sheet ill pass