Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NEW To Bowhunting

Default NEW To Bowhunting

New to the sport, I've been looking into buying a compound bow setup. I do not have the knowledge on what to look for in particular. I was going to start off by going to the South Irby Street Sporting Goods to get fitted, is that a good place to go? Also, I have seen bows that range from $300-$2000, how do you find out what fits for you? Are the super expensive ones really that worth it? I know, you get what you pay for, but I am just starting out. I have shot my brother's bow a couple of times but not to the point where I felt comfortable, maybe because it wasn't fitted to my draw length and weight. Mainly I want to get a bow to practice in my backyard at least until I am really proficient with it. There is no sense in going to a stand right away if I'm not accurate.
    If you guys have any tips on bow selection, and climbing stand recommendations, please let me know! I have a tall solid oak tree I would like to start practicing from in a stand once I get a bow figured out.

Anything helps! Thank you in advance everyone!!

Get you a summit climber and then get a bow that you feel most comfortable with and by that I mean shootability and pocketbook. No need to spend 1,000’s of dollars. Check out the hunting public guys. They do it all over the country with minimal gear and non-flagship bows.

Quote Originally Posted by SCWOODROW View Post
    Get you a summit climber and then get a bow that you feel most comfortable with and by that I mean shootability and pocketbook. No need to spend 1,000’s of dollars. Check out the hunting public guys. They do it all over the country with minimal gear and non-flagship bows.

Thanks for the feedback!