Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Yamaha 25 problem??

Default Yamaha 25 problem??

Help me out. I have a 1998 Yamaha 25. This motor runs great for about 45 minutes. Then it will act like it’s not getting gas. It will bog down at full throttle. When this happens, I can just barely get it on plane to limp back to the landing. And it happens almost every time I run it for an extended amount of time. It’s not the gas as this has happened on multiple tanks.

It’s not the vent on the tank. I replaced the fuel line from tank to motor. Bulb stays hard. Have cleaned carbs. Again, it will run like a scalded dog for 45 minutes or so, then it bogs down on anything past about half throttle.

Any ideas??

mdb

All I can think is maybe it is overheating and going into RPM reduction. I’m not a mechanic by any stretch but maybe look at water pump, impeller if it’s been a while since it was replaced.
    More Ducks, Less People

At first thought I considered too, that it might be overheating and going into limp mode, but if that were the case he couldn't get enough rpms to even get on plane. So that's out.

Just cause you've run multiple tanks don't mean much. You still could have water in your gas. Disconnect the fuel line from the motor and use the primer bulb to shoot some gas into a clear glass jar and see if there's water at the bottom. The water is heavier so the gas will stay on top and it'll be obvious. Also check the fuel line for potential leak spots. Also look at the little fuel cup under the cowl with the filter in it. Might have a little water settled in there, or even in your carb bowls.

Just spitballing here.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
    Last edited by willyworm; 07-06-2020 at 11:12 AM.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Delta in a nutshell: Breeding grounds + small wetlands + big blocks of grass cover + predator removal + nesting structures + enough money to do the job= plenty of ducks to keep everyone smiling!