Thread: Planting corn

Default Planting corn

I've always wanted to try and plant a corn plot for deer but never made it happen. I'm determined this year. Question is, can broadcast and or drill? I do have a grain drill but no planter. Secondly, what type of corn seed should I be looking for to do this if it is possible
    "They are who we thought they were"

You can dress a fat chick up, but you cant fix stupid

There are certainly some folks in here with far more experience farming than I. I’m a wildlife farmer so to speak. That said if you have access to a planter that is your best option. If you do not a drill with every other hole blocked off would be second best. If you were to broadcast it I would do so in a mix of some sort.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Conservation means the wise use of the earth and its resources for the lasting good of men. -Gifford Pinchot

The beauty of the second amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it. -Thomas Jefferson

The very existence of flame-throwers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done.

I thought of blocking every other hole on the drill, problem I'm thinking I would have is the seed would still be dropped too close together in each row

It cost less to throw it in the ground than to plant it. Probably last longer too.

Get a planter or don't even try.

You can rent a planter- or pay someone that has one to come do it. Need to start with a soil sample.

Planning corn is very simple....if you have the right equipment. The only practical way is with a planter (not a drill).

Go check the price of seed and you'll get an idea of how costs explode.