Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dammit again!

Default Dammit again!

I was just over in the cyber duck blind bitching about getting old and not having the drive I used to to get out and get after the ducks. Well, this is kinda along the same line. I decided this year to skip my Ohio Rut trip that I've been doing in early November annually since 2009; its too much of a PITA to fly and get a rental, and the drive is a 23 hour killer. Last year, I had a big 10 walk by at 40 then back into 35 trailing a doe that had walked in to 20 yards. He knew something wasn't right in my tree, but he was going to die for that doe. Before he got into my range with my longbow, a small buck ran in, and the doe turned and took them over the ridge. I never saw him again in two weeks of hard hunting. Well, my bud just sent me pics from two spots, and this deer is making the same loop the big 8 I killed there in '09 was making. I feel really confident that if I go climb a particular tree that is about 70 yards from the tree I killed my 8 in, within 3 days. I will have that deer walk by with the thermals taking my wind away away from him despite him thinking he has the wind in his favor. I found this spot completely by luck. This is one of those spots that just present the perfect setup, and I've had piles of bucks walk past me here over the years since I shot the big 8...just not one quite big enough. I know this slob is working the loop, and this spot is part of that loop. Now, I just need to try to talk myself into making this exhausting trip to sit in a tree from daylight to dark...then drive back home. I'd say odds are 80/20 that I have him in the woods with me making my heart thump in overdrive...and 20/80 that I have him close enough to loose an arrow. I think I need to take those odds, suck it up, and make the drive. We found his sheds last year. I estimated him in the 160s when I saw him, but with an 18" spread, his sheds said mid 150's. I think he's pushing Boone this year. Shou