Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 2015 Silverado factory navigation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sandhills
    Posts
    4,379

    Default 2015 Silverado factory navigation

    My truck does not have factory navigation and a buddy replaced his HMI with the upgraded one for his iPhone. Wondering if I can replace mine with his old HMI and have factory navigation on my truck.
    The thing about the road less traveled is,..its not really a road. -JW-

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    FROG LEVEL
    Posts
    17,848

    Default

    Get a new truck/ I got one for ya
    Gettin old is for pussies! AND MY NEW TRUE people say like Capt. Tom >>>>>>>>>/
    "Wow, often imitated but never duplicated. No one can do it like the master. My hat is off to you DRDUCK!"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    148

    Default

    But you won’t have WiFi in your house if you sell your truck

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sandhills
    Posts
    4,379

    Default

    The thing about the road less traveled is,..its not really a road. -JW-

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    4,558

    Default

    "Factory navigation" in a vehicle isn't worth what many people think unless it provides you realtime data like google/waze/apple. I believe some manufacturers are implementing google maps now.

    The work vehicle I have doesn't have navigation but has apple car play. I still don't use it because it forces you to use apple maps which fail in comparison to google/waze.

    I heep the phone mounted to the dash with a magnet mount and use the phone screen for navigation.
    The right to bear arms is the last form of defense against tyranny.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    FROG LEVEL
    Posts
    17,848

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ducksmoker View Post
    But you won’t have WiFi in your house if you sell your truck
    Yea I will, I will use the wife's car
    Gettin old is for pussies! AND MY NEW TRUE people say like Capt. Tom >>>>>>>>>/
    "Wow, often imitated but never duplicated. No one can do it like the master. My hat is off to you DRDUCK!"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    4,558

    Default

    Actually, it looks like you can now use a 3rd party map with Apple Car Play:
    The right to bear arms is the last form of defense against tyranny.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Camden, SC
    Posts
    12,758

    Default

    Does yours have the antenna already routed?

    Sent from my S9+ using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sandhills
    Posts
    4,379

    Default

    Yes it has the antenna on the roof for OnStar already. I'm thinking I'd rather have android auto that uses google maps.
    The thing about the road less traveled is,..its not really a road. -JW-

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Camden, SC
    Posts
    12,758

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GreenHeadRocker View Post
    Yes it has the antenna on the roof for OnStar already. I'm thinking I'd rather have android auto that uses google maps.
    Why not get something far superior if you're going to go through the trouble?

    I'd suggest an Alpine or Pioneer Premier unit and be done with it. It is android based and is going to be much better than any factory unit.

    Sent from my S9+ using Tapatalk

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •