Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Squaring rough cut lumber

Default Squaring rough cut lumber

I’ve been getting 1x6x8-10 rough cut cedar.
    I’ve gone out and bought a planer and have a Bosch table saw. I thought that I could plane the face of the boards then run them through my table router and younger and grove them. Well, I did that to many of the boards but the edges aren’t perfectly straight lining up.
    What’s the best method to straightening the edges? Jointer? Table saw? Festool track saw?
    At the end of the day, what’s the fastest?
    I’m building a small cabin at my pond and want to use the cedar on the walls in the inside.
    Thanks for any tips....I’m a welder, not a wood worker by no means
    12F50A26-F906-4315-BAA3-FF4F2AB4454D.jpg12F50A26-F906-4315-BAA3-FF4F2AB4454D.jpg
    39133779-1F75-45DB-8E1F-6F86F6AC08A9.jpg
    20B77115-F6B5-40AF-A98B-BB076D212146.jpg

I use a lot of rough cut cedar too. Make a clean square cut on the table saw and two boards aren't square to one another, blows my mind. So I got a Jointer and now its seamless.

Jointer, helical head if possible.
    Last edited by Saltydog235; 01-18-2019 at 09:36 AM.
    Yeah, but do you consider a dog to be a filthy animal? I wouldn't go so far as to call a dog filthy but they're definitely dirty. But, a dog's got personality. Personality goes a long way.

You might take out a dozen before they drag you from your home and skull fuck you to death. Marsh Chicken 6/21/2013

thats gonna turn out pretty when you get it put up.

“Muh butts been wiped.” TheBigGuy
    “Poor kids are just as bright and talented as white kids.” PedoPete, Esq.
    “Let’s go Brandon, I agree!” former Vice President Joe Biden
    “Shower time, Ashley.” NotAndyTaylor