Thread: training help needed

My pup esso is a machine when it comes to retrieving, on water and on land. However, i can make him sit and stay and then throw the dummy but i can not get him to release the sit and go fetch the dummy. My water dog video just says to say his name, but says nothing else about it. What do i do to make him go and get it from the sit postion? any help will be greatly appreciated
    \"Will Rogers Never Met a Gamecock.\"

How old is the pup? Either he's awful damn steady or he doesn't understand what you want him to do. I would try calling his name very excitedly and running toward the dummy with him. If he'll pick it up, run back to the original place you started and try to get him to sit while holding the bumper. I'm no expert, but that's what I'd try.
    S.C. - Standing alone against Northern aggression since 1861 (LAT)

From your previous post I am guessing he is a very young pup (around 5 months??)...which is IMO too young for much steadying unless he is just choked with desire (and I am not talking your usual obsessed boykin or lab).... I would not bet he has the drive to start steadying at 5 months.

I would take a step back and hold him around the chest, while he is standing. Toss a bird/bumper out there 10-20 yards out on short grass and as it is hitting the ground say his name (in a semi-excited way), remove your hand from his chest and give him a little push in the direction of the bird/bumper. Do this for a few days until he starts getting the picture of his name being a release.

From here you can move to the sitting with your arm/hand in front of his chest and releasing in the same fashion as above.

This is a very gross direction. If you can give us more details on his background (age, and other steps you have been through (like how long you can leave him sitting by himself when marks are not thrown))...we might be of more use.
    If you don't know me how could I offend you?