Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Woodcock

Default Woodcock

Someone educate me on these birds. I am in the woods a good bit, but know nothing about them. I honestly don't know anyone in the upstate who hunts them regularly.
    I saw one about two years ago for the first time. It flushed and I was sure it was a woodcock. Never saw another until today when I jumped three in a bottom along a creek of a property we might list for sale. Are these birds local like quail....likely to stay in the same area? Or do they move around in a broad range more like doves. School me.

I hunt them on occasion in the Upstate. They do migrate, and it seems a little early for them. I would say I'm a novice, but it's fun, and we see more of them than we do wild quail.

We just hunt them like quail around swampy areas.

Migrators.
    I had an ant farm once......them fellas didn't grow shit.

They have showed up.
    I had an ant farm once......them fellas didn't grow shit.

They're birds. They fly around, but sometimes they sit still. If you shoot them with a gun, they will die. Also, they make noises.
    "Hunt today to kill tomorrow." - Ron Jolly

Quote Originally Posted by tman View Post
    They're birds. They fly around, but sometimes they sit still. If you shoot them with a gun, they will die. Also, they make noises.
    Should I use tss loads?

Quote Originally Posted by DJP View Post
    Should I use tss loads?
    no but you need a kick's Xtra full
    Houndsmen are born, not made

Quote Originally Posted by 2thDoc View Post
    I STAND WITH DUCK CUTTER!
    Quote Originally Posted by JABIII View Post
    I knew it wasn't real because no dogbox...

Jenks you take me there and tag along I'll show you what you need to know.

Hell I'll even bring a proper gun
    Last edited by GobblerHntr; 12-08-2015 at 10:27 PM.
    You've got one life. Blaze on!

Quote Originally Posted by tman View Post
    Wow, quite helpful I must say