Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cull buck???

Default Cull buck???

I know we have some PHD biologists on here. What's your take? I took out this 150pound 6 point as a cull. Good call or would he have blossomed later in life?
    Attached Images Attached Images

1.5 DEF not a cull,,, but guess what ,,,,, it doesnt matter now

867-5309

Guess we will never know??? If you felt inclined to shoot it then good shot! If you only shot it as a "cull" then I would say you should have let him walk. I'm no biologist but if it were a management property I would not have shot him.

I have no educational background on whitetail biology but this is my opinion of aging bucks. 6 months old=40 to 60lbs, 1.5 yr olds=90 to 120lbs, 2.5 yr olds, 130 to 150 lbs, 3.5 and older 160 plus. Now I know they can weight less than normal after rutting hard, but this deer was not run down at all.

Dat thing still got milk on it's snout. Ida shot his ass

I mounted him because I killed him on family property and he is identical to a deer I killed out if the same stand 3 years earlier. I previous one had a little bigger rack and was 160lbs. They have to be related. Yeah, I know he isn't that big, but I'm much prouder of the deer I take one place than any deer I could go pay to kill.

Probably ate too many crawfish, that is why he weighs more than 120

Ain't no way in hell a 1.5yr old can weight no 150lbs! Had to be a 2.5yr!

Quote Originally Posted by Cottontop74 View Post
    Ain't no way in hell a 1.5yr old can weight no 150lbs! Had to be a 2.5yr!
    Stop talking.
    "Freedom Isn't Free"
    _Spc. Thomas Caughman
    1983-2004

Quote Originally Posted by Dook View Post
    Go tigers!

Awww shit here we go...get ya popcorn ready and buckle up.

Quote Originally Posted by turbo View Post
    Stop talking.