Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hevi Metal: 4's or 6's?

Default Hevi Metal: 4's or 6's?

Thinking of trying Hevi Metal, just not sure about shot size. The shell itself is a duplex load with the Hevi Shot on top. I usually shoot 4's in steel. I've read somewhere (I think) that you can drop back two sizes with Hevi Shot and due to the density achieve the same down range energy. Anyone have experience with this product?
    Last edited by Shotunderit; 10-22-2013 at 06:02 AM.
    \"Free your mind, your ass will follow\"

I've been shooting them for a couple of years. They hold a really good pattern out of a pure gold modified choke. Go with the #4s.

Waste of money...you can kill em just as dead with fiochi, Kent's, etc. Hit em in the face in the decoys and you don't need a bunch of fancy marketing to kill ducks.

Marsh Chicken just shut up.

If I'm not mistaken, a #4 Heavy Metal has half #4 steel and half #6 Heavy Shot.
    The Heavy Shot in each size is two sizes smaller in the shell.

And yes, they are worth the money TO ME.

Oh look, he doesn't have his feet down. I better not shoot him...

Exactly HS.

You people are funny...
    Man and other animals were first vegetarians; then Noah and his sons were given permission to eat meat: “every moving thing that liveth shall be meat for you” Genesis 9:3

"A man may not care for golf and still be human, but the man who does not like to see, hunt, photograph or otherwise outwit birds or animals is hardly normal. He is supercivilized, and I for one do not know how to deal with him." Aldo Leopold

3" 3's kill them. I agree you can kill ducks with steel, but your effective range of killing versus crippling is extended. This is beneficial when you have more than a few birds coming into the decoys.

Quote Originally Posted by trentsmith View Post
    And yes, they are worth the money TO ME.

if i hunted two or three times a week all season long, i would shoot the cheapest shit i could find.