Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Its a bit early for

Default Its a bit early for

this but I just can't help it.
    Every year around the first of march, the coastal waters call.
    The drive to cast flies, jig chinabacks, and twitch corks is more than I can stand.
    If I wasn't taking stretch fishing this weekend, I'd be making him take me.

My latest obsession has been pompano.
    I have little to no experience with these little fish, but for some reason the urge to catch them is overwhelming. Its quite possible that it has everything to do with them looking like miniature permit, although my fascination probably has more to do with the youtube video I watched where two mexicans were flat wearing them out on a sandbar with 5wts.
    From what I gather they show up around june/july.
    I am openly and directly cyberscouting these fish.
    Take me. Teach me.

seriously.
    Be proactive about improving public waterfowl habitat in South Carolina. It's not going to happen by itself, and our help is needed. We have the potential to winter thousands of waterfowl on public grounds if we fight for it.

You're a homo.
    "Never Trust a Skinny Chef."

They're hammering the pompanos in Stuart right now.

...and on jigs no less.

One of the best eating fish.

Around here, mole crabs and small hooks. In the suds, close in, and in troughs. Some folks actually use floats and fish for 'em with a rig that looks like a bream outfit.
    "Only accurate rifles are interesting " - Col. Townsend Whelen

i had these visions of catching pompano in the surf when i moved here.
    I'd get up before work, drive to pawleys around 530am, dig for the elusive sandcrab, find 3...loose bait after 4 or 5 casts/drifts..put small pieces of shrimp on..1, i caught 1 in my first summer here..

the only place i've caught more than 1 was jigging for bait off live bottom right of surfside/GC. sabikis. 20' of water.