Thread: Savage 111 "Build"

Default Savage "Build" Recommendations

I use the term "build" loosely since I am just wanting to upgrade furniture and my optic. I picked up a Savage 11/111 XP in .30-06 a few years ago as a combo for a good deal. I don't deer hunt very often, however I like having a gun that will be ready to go when I get the itch. It is fairly accurate as is (I'm not an expert rifleman by any means) but I am wondering if a better stock will help improve accuracy.

I am not a fan of the cheap polymer stock that it came with and want to upgrade that. I am wondering if anyone has any experience with this gun or a 110 on a Boyd's or Bell and Carlson stock. Any recommendation on wood vs composite? Thumb-hole or traditional etc.?

I also want to move up the ladder in terms of a scope. The one that came on it isn't terrible, but it would be better served on a .22 or similar varmint caliber rifle (low-light clarity is sub-par).

Are there any other things I should consider upgrading on this gun? It does have the adjustable Accu-trigger and I do like it.
    Last edited by Hosscat; 05-02-2018 at 07:49 AM.

Had a Boyds on the 7-08 I sold and liked it a lot, featherweight thumbhole. ID see if you could still get one of those ER5 Leicas, be a nice hunting rig for sure then.

I have same gun in 6.5 creed more and looking to do the same thing. Change stock and get rid of the Nikon and mounts that came with this package. Will be following this thread.

If it was mine I’d do a B&C stock, new trigger and a Leupold VX5.