Thread: 91 Silverado Problem. Need advice.

Default 91 Silverado Problem. Problem solved.

So here's whats going on. The battery went dead a few weeks ago. I put the battery on the charger and it wouldn't hold a charge. No problem, went and got a new battery. Put it in the the truck and it cranks good, idles fine, then when I take off down the road the gauges start jumping all over the place. Radio and AC start cutting in and out. The voltage gauge spikes all the way over when you hit the throttle. So I turn around and limp back to the house thinking my alternator is bad. Put a new one on and it didnt help. If anything its worse. It idle's pretty good in park but if you put in drive, the gauges start jumping and the engine starts idling rough. Can anyone give me an idea where to start looking for the problem?
    Last edited by luckydogger; 06-05-2018 at 07:36 AM.

sounds like a bad voltage regulator to me but I'm no mechanic.
    Bone....

There may be an in-line fusible link in the wire leaving the alternator, maybe a few inches from the lug that hooks to the alternator. If it's blown it won't allow the alternator to charge and do what it's doing now.
    Looks similar to this,
    FUSIBLE-LINK-NON-NASCAR.jpg

Or, look for a blown fuse in you fuse panel(s).
    Last edited by Bownut; 04-23-2018 at 11:18 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by HERRINGBONE View Post
    sounds like a bad voltage regulator to me but I'm no mechanic.
    If I am not mistaken, the voltage regulator is inside the alternator.
    Start with the easiest first, check battery cables all the way from battery to the starter and the ground cable from battery all the way to the block.
    Then check plug from the back of the alternator and follow it.
    I would crank truck and see if it will stay running with battery unhooked.......if so, problem is not with alternator most likely.
    Last edited by ecu1984; 04-23-2018 at 11:21 AM.

Go buy you a good alternator and replace it.