Thread: retriver training

Default retriver training

Looking for some training books. What do you guys suggest. My old dog is almost 9 and the website that I read and got a lot of info from I cant find now. So any websites you guys use would be great also. Have a new pup that I am ready to start training.

I'm by no means a professional and I don't do hunt test or field trials. I just wanted an obedient dog that would pick up my birds for me. Dokkins Retriever Training was a great foundation especially for obedience. Once my dog was around 5-6 months I started using the Wildrose Way book. There is a lot of stuff in there that I didn't use but there's also a lot of info and tips that I never would have thought. My one regret is not having the Wildrose book from the start so that I would've known to work on maintaining eye contact.

Like I said, I am by no means a veteran at this but I think I have done pretty well with my dog. It might be more the dog, than me, but I plan on going the same route with the next one.
    Sea Ark 1542 w/ Yamaha 40
    Xpress 16 w/ 50 Hammer
    War Eagle 15 w/ 30 Hammer

--------------------------------------------------

"Sometimes you gotta grab the bull by the horns and the women by the tits and take charge in your life" - General Patton

"I'm very drunk and I intend on getting still drunker before this evening's over."
    - Rhett Butler

I'm the same way. I have only trained my springer. And that's all I wanted was a good dog that would pick up dead birds. This time I just want to do a little better on certain things.

I am using Smartwork by Evan Graham. Pup is only 15 weeks but so far I am happy with the program.

I have the entire swartworks prog I will let go for 150 it's all the dvds and books

Quote Originally Posted by banded_mallard View Post
    I have the entire swartworks prog I will let go for 150 it's all the dvds and books
    Really great deal and really wish this would have been posted about 2 months ago.